2020 3-Minute Thesis Competition

OCS is pleased to announce that we have moved the 2020 Yale’s 3-Minute Thesis Competition to a new virtual format!  The April 2020 finalists have recorded their presentations and you currently have the opportunity to view and vote on your favorites. Our panel of judges will announce the winners at our virtual awards event on December 8.

1. Watch the 3MT Finalists’ Presentations 

The Office of Career Strategy is showing all of our 2020 finalists’ videos via the Office of Career Strategy YouTube channel:

Physical Sciences Division

  • Duncan Keller, Geology & Geophysics:  “Nanoscale Needles Reveal the Extraordinary Journey of Connecticut’s Deepest Rocks”
  • Trevor Wright, Physics:  “What’s the Matter with the Universe?”
  • Luo Yantao, Geology & Geophysics: “Probing the Earth’s History”
  • Lily Zhao, Astronomy:   “Using Stellar Wobbles to Find True Earth Twins”

Humanities/Social Sciences Division

  • Natalie Daumeyer, Psychology: “Consequences of Attributing Discrimination to Implicit Bias”
  • Amelia Kennedy, History:  “Growing Old in a Cistercian Monastery, c. 1100-1300”
  • Ro’ee Levy, Economics: “Social Media, News Consumption and Polarization”

Biological Sciences Division

  • Gadareth Higgs, Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology:  “Discovering Bacterial Gene Control Switches”
  • Harini Sadeeshkumar, Molecular Cellular & Developmental Biology:  “Developing Riboswitch Biosensors to Find New Antibiotics”
  • Josh Sheetz, Pharmacology:  “Signs of Life Among the Dead?  Examining Structure and Uncovering New Function”
  • Ce Zhang, Neuroscience:  “Growing Human Smooth Brain-Like Tissue From Hair”

2. Vote for Your Favorite Presentations

Two prizes ($300) will be determined by audience vote:

  • Audience Favorite Prize: Humanities/Social Sciences
  • Audience Favorite Prize: STEM

Vote for your favorite presentations between Wednesday, December 2, 12pm ET –  Monday December 7, 12pm ET.  Information on how to vote is available via our registration for the December 8th Virtual Awards Ceremony.

3. Attend the Virtual Awards Ceremony at 12:30pm on December 8!

The winners will be announced at the award ceremony via Zoom on Tuesday, December 8 at 12:30pm ET.  We look forward to seeing you there, celebrating the hard work of this year’s finalists, and crowning this year’s Yale 3MT champion! Be sure to register via Eventbrite.

This year’s panel of judges include:

  • Lynn Cooley, Dean of Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • Carmen Bambach, ’81, ’88 PhD Art History, Curator, Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Joshy Joseph, MPhil ’90 Computer Science, VP and Google Fellow, Google
  • Rick Li, PhD ’05 Physics, Partner, Goldman Sachs